• using the telephone
  • doing housework
  • shopping
  • managing finances
  • managing medication
  • transferring
  • continence
  • driving
  • preparing meals

Call Us:  (248) 733-5802


Our Services

In - Home Care
The term in-home care includes two different levels of care:

  • Home health care provided by licensed medical professionals, for which you need a prescription
  • Non-medical home care, such as personal care, homemaker or companionship services provided by caregivers.

In broader terms, home care that seniors and the disabled require often revolves around the Activities of Daily Living (ADLs). These are provided under non-medical home care

  • eating
  • dressing
  • toileting
  • bathing

Why In-Home Care?

Studies show that an overwhelming amount of people want to continue living at home for as long as possible; this includes both the elderly and the disabled population.  With that in mind, they also tend to be more willing to seek help from professionals as well as family members.  Studies also show that clients were more likely to be happier and thus a longer projected rate of living and having better health results.  The users of in-home care tend to be satisfied with receiving care while in the comfort of their home. 

Private Duty

Care & Case Management

Hospice & Palliative Care

Hospice neither hastens nor postpones death; hospice is a caring, sensitive approach to meeting the needs of the patient while regarding death as a normal process of life. The theory of hospice is that the last days are spent with dignity and courageousness at home, if possible, or in a setting where care is provided appropriately. The patient retains control over their lives with the support of hospice and or their family members. Together, First Alliance and your entire hospice team will address problems together and support you, the patient, in your choices. Care and support is also provided to the loved ones of the dying patient; this care and support is provided after the death of the patient, assisting caregivers and families in the grief process.

Palliative care is a home health program managed by an interdisciplinary care team with a focus on symptom management.  It is offered to any patient with the need for symptom control, regardless of the stage of illness or prognosis. Palliative care can be offered along with other interventions, including curative and aggressive medical treatments, and can be initiated at any stage in which a patient would benefit from the services.

What services are available with palliative care?

RN:  Registered nurses, available 24/7 by phone

Case Manager:  Our case manager is available to assist patients and families with community resource planning and counseling for long-range planning and decision-making, case management, and transitioning

Physical, Occupational, and Speech Therapist:  In-home therapy is available to meet the individual patient's needs.

Certified Nursing Assistant:  Certified nursing assistants are available to assist with personal care or, if qualified, you can *hire your family members through our home help agency program.

Chaplain:  Chaplains may assist with the spiritual and emotional needs of both patients and family members. 

Criteria for palliative care often include, but are not limited to:

  • A physician's order for palliative care services
  • A disease process (acute or chronic) causing intractable pain, significant uncomfortable symptoms, or a change in physical or mental  function in which the palliative team can impact and maintain quality of life
  • Increased need for physical, emotional, social, or spiritual support
  • Homebound status
Medicaid Home Help Agency Provider

While we acknowledge that death is an individual experience, First Alliance is here to comfort, assist and encourage you or your family through the 5 stages of death:

  1. Denial: “I am not ready to die. There must be some mistake.” 
  2. Anger: Suddenly you are no longer in control of your life, you are helpless and it makes you angry. 
  3. Bargaining: You try to make a deal with God, you are willing to promise anything if it gives you more time. 
  4. Depression: This is a normal part of the dying process. You are aware of the pain your death is causing your loved ones. 
  5. Acceptance: You become less emotional, calmness settles in and you realize that it is alright for you to die. 

Criteria for hospice often includes, but is not limited to:
  • Diagnosed with a terminal illness by a physician
  • Typically with an estimated 6mo-1year left prognosis
  • Forsaking all forms of treatment, with the exception of pain management for comfort

*Medicaid offers Home Help services within the state of Michigan

*Hire your family to help

*Home help services

Assist with household tasks
  • Help with laundry and ironing
  • Take out garbage
  • Make beds
  • Change linens
  • Dust furniture
  • Organize and clean closets

Plan, prepare and clean up meals
  • Shop for groceries and supplies
  • Prepare future meals

Help with errands

  • Drop off and pick up cleaning

Pick up prescriptions